Our Collective Nightmare

Trump just gave power to Steve Bannon a white nationalist.

Never forget the rise of Hitler happened insidiously, methodically, cunningly, deceptively & with the support of the electoral.
Hitler didn’t start out as a dictator; he was a populist with great orator skills. He loved to hold rallies filled with adoration of him.

The following is from Wikipedia: Adolf Hitler rose to a place of prominence in the early years of the party. Being one of the best speakers of the party, he told the other party members to either make him leader of the party or he would never return. He was aided in part by his willingness to use and incite violence in advancing his political objectives and to recruit party members who were willing to do the same

 

 

I awake everyday to dread and a pit in my stomach when I realize who our President elect is. I don’t feel optimistic or hopeful. I feel doom and gloom; I feel it is the beginning of the end. During the primaries everyone told me he couldn’t win but I knew in my gut he would. The same thing during the general election, I knew he could win despite what the pundits and friends were telling me. I worked hard to help avert that tragedy but my gut was right again and he won.
Now people tell me to stay calm and it won’t be that bad but my gut tells me this is going to be beyond disastrous. I’m sticking with the feeling in my gut. I had a slight reprieve from my anxiety and unrest during a dream that they found many more provisional and absentee ballots and she was the real winner.
I think back to the moment when Rudy Giuliani with his sinister laugh, claimed they were going to win because they had a few tricks left up their sleeves. I recall when Comey came out the second time clearing Hillary of any wrongdoing with emails and Kelly Anne Conway smugly states, “The damage is done”. I get even more upset as more votes are counted and realize she may win the vote by 3 million.
It disturbs me to think of Conway and Giuliani being given very powerful positions where they can exact revenge.
I have concerns and doubts as to whether this was a fair election or whether those tricks involved maneuvers to suppress the vote dramatically. And there is the Electoral College its original intention was to stop uneducated poor people from having an equal stake in the outcome of an election. That is irony for you. Why do we keep an antiquated and archaic system that when designed didn’t allow women or blacks to vote. In fact you were required to be a property owner to vote at that time. It is long overdue to enact a direct vote for POTUS so we can truly be a government for the people, of the people and by the people. It’s not a government of the people if 55 million Californian votes don’t really count. People call me unpatriotic and tell me to get over it. But, I am a patriot and care about the future of this country and the integrity of the election and that’s exactly why I can’t accept this. I even wonder if the reason Trump rallied and raged on about the election being rigged and the possibility he wouldn’t accept the results was intentional. He knew the press would seize on that and go on a tirade about how Un-American it is to not accept the results. He knew he would win and wanted to quash any questions of irregularities occurring in this election before they started. A manipulative, unbalanced corrupt man is about to take the most powerful position in the world and somehow we must stop him.

This election proves our country doesn’t revere or respect women. We judge women solely on their physical appearance.

I feel as bad as after 9/11. This is the beginning of the end of democracy, dissent, protest and freedom.

Once he is POTUS he will squash all dissent. He will vilify protesters and utilize all his powers including military to end any and all opposition to him.

There will no longer be checks and balances. He already controls the House and Senate and they won’t oppose him on anything fearing political suicide. He will fill his cabinet with puppets and cronies. He’s already said Rudy will be head of FBI and or Justice Department. Newt will be Secretary of State and God knows what position Christie will have. He plans to put Kelly Anne Conway, Steve Bannon, and Preibus in his administration. There won’t be a single person left to oppose his authority so he can have carte blanche. The court is in a tie, he will fill the federal courts with his cronies too. This is his so called draining the Swamp.

He has already stated he wants to curtail freedom of the press by changing laws to make it easier to sue journalists. He will cease allowing access to journalists who disagree with him. Democracy is over unless he gets run over by a bus.

I awoke after hardly any sleep still devastated wondering what
we do now?
I keep seeking and searching for guidance and assurances but don’t know where to find them. My dismay, shock, disbelief and utter emptiness engulf me as I feel ill prepared to face life under the Presidency of a raving lunatic. The mere thought of handing over power to a narcissistic psychopath shakes me to my core.
He is a power mongering self indulgent, hateful, vengeful man who is ignorant and misinformed about the world. A man who believes he is never wrong and refuses to accept direction or advice. My God what have we done???

 

I have lived for more than 50 years. I remember the Vietnam War, Watergate, the economic stagnation and international humiliation of the 1970s, the “greed is good” days of the 80s, and, of course, the Clinton scandals of the 1990s and the GW Bush disaster of the 2000s. But, until now, I have never been ashamed to be an American. I always believed that, whether Democrat or Republican, our Presidents were basically good people who were reasonable and thoughtful, even if I did not agree with them. Donald Trump is not reasonable. He is not thoughtful. He is a fraudster, a thief, a man who has done business with the mob, a racist, a sexual predator, a misogynist who thinks women are here only to serve him, a fool who knows nothing of the world and has no curiosity about it, and a smug, self-satisfied rich boy at heart who has never had to work for anything in his life. Moreover, he has said he likes the idea of some dictatorship in our great nation. No, we will not come out of this unscathed. Our countrymen of color, our sisters and mothers and wives and daughters, our armed forces who will bear the price of the wars this arrogant idiot starts . . . they are only the tip of the long line of victims this misguided decision to elect a truly evil man will create. I cry for my country. I cry for our heritage and our history that has been forgotten and forsaken and dishonored. And I do not believe that all who voted for Trump are good and decent people. Some may be. Others are enablers of all the awful things that will now occur as the direct, predictable, well-understood, and inevitable result of their actions.

This is my worst nightmare come true. I need some reassurance but I know there isn’t any. This is the end of our American Democracy as we know it. We won’t live in a safe world anymore, our economy will collapse. Those of you who claimed Hillary was corrupt are soon to see what corruption really looks like.
I can’t sleep; I don’t know how to cope with this atrocity

About taraogradyblog

Journalist, writer & mom. Former TV Reporter @KTVN & @YourAKLink. UNR graduate. News & Political junkie. Mom to 3 amazing young adults. I am an adventurous, compassionate and complicated woman. I have a deep abiding concern and interest in an array of issues. I consider myself to be an advocate for the underdog and have a great disdain for injustice. I work my best under pressure and deadlines and am adaptable and versatile. I enjoy politics, history and journalism. I love to write and enjoy a good debate. Music, writing, journalism, politics and dance play an integral part of my life! I have worked in both broadcast and print journalism, reporting for numerous small to medium market television news departments. Started as an intern becoming a news reporter for KTVN (Reno) and as a general assignment T.V. News Reporter in Fairbanks Alaska. In 1983 one of my package news stories was purchased by and aired on CNN. I have reported on a wide variety of stories, including crime, disasters, politics, legal, social, and issues of justice. Covered heartwarming stories that demonstrate the strength and spirit of people facing adversity. I have received numerous accolades and awards for my investigative pieces. I have reported on a wide range of stories including women's issues, the latest medical breakthroughs such as the artificial heart, major political campaigns, critical environmental issues to the lighter side of news such as the Reno Hot Air Balloon Races, the Air Shows and even a bathtub race down the Truckee River!! I have also pursued my print writing career, publishing numerous articles for various newspapers and periodicals. I continue to write blogs and sometimes write for newspapers on a free lance basis and am working towards my ultimate goal to finish my book! In between journalism jobs, I have worked in many other areas, Pre- Kindergarten Teacher, Camp Counselor, Cocktail Waitress, Bartender, An extra acting in the movies and production assistant on many major motion pictures filmed in Las Vegas, Marketing work, Black Jack Dealer and computer work. I have also had some legal training, as part of a para legal certification program and I am adept at social media an marketing. I created and operate a youtube page with over 18,000 subscribers and over 9 million video views (All videos which I produced). I created and operate a FB page which has reached 10,000 likes without spending a dime on advertising, all promotions were done exclusively by me. Last but not least: Raised my kids, (job I am most proud of). I have three wonderful children, 2 girls and a boy, each has made me a very proud mom. They range in age from 21-27. I had a fourth child that died, but she lives in my heart and I will never forget her for a moment. I also have two beautiful grand children, Aiden 7 years and Lucy 4. My children are the most important part of my life and my role as a mother the most crucial! I tried and continue to attempt to provide a loving, nurturing, positive and encouraging environment. I have also volunteered for the Big Brother/Big Sister Organization, the Salvation Army, the SIDS Organization & on a few political campaigns. I also volunteered, for promotional and public relations work for a variety of non profit organizations. You can follow me on Twitter: Follow @TaraLOGrady
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment