Trump’s original Muslim Ban

Our new President Trump signed a declaration today banning all refugees from these seven countries Iraq, Syria, Iran, Libya, Somalia, and Sudan.

There were 8 terrorists that carried out the attacks in Paris & only 1 came through with the refugees and that is not even 100 percent verified. Banning all refugees is an overreaction and not American. We can keep our nation safe with a thorough vetting process but we can’t change and destroy the principles on which this nation stands, represents and was founded. .This is a humanitarian crisis of epic proportions. We have accepted millions escaping famines, seeking political asylum, eluding oppression and fleeing danger and violence throughout our history.
Most refugees are families trying to escape the violence of Isis and war. America has a proud history of accepting refugees from all over and providing them a safe haven. The statue of liberty is a symbol with the inscription that reads, “Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearnWe cannot betray our traditions and history by hating and we can’t vilify whole groups of people. There are 1.2 billion people of the Muslim faith in the world and most are peaceful and hard working. We cannot allow a few evil terrorists define all. Isis is a dangerous group of radical terrorists, filled with hate, determined to spread death and destruction and it is imperative we defeat and eradicate them. However, we must also learn from history that hate and revenge is not the avenue to obtaining their demise. Germany spread hate and vilified all Jews and we know the results of that. We must defeat and destroy Isis, a group of radical militants, but do not extend or attribute their behaviors and actions to others.
All over social media I see hateful posts, such as let’s have a war of cowboys vs. Muslims or let’s kill everyone with a turban on their head. Is that the kind of country we are or want to be? I believe we are a tolerant compassionate country, let us demonstrate it to the world. We can defeat Isis without becoming a nation that hates the Muslim people, we can remain a proud compassionate nation that open its heart and borders to the downtrodden and the oppressed, while keeping our nation safe. Most Americans originate from ancestors that fled oppression and/or poverty

Isis wants to create division, wants to instill fear and wants us to hate all Muslims; if we succumb to that they become victorious.

 

About taraogradyblog

Journalist, writer & mom. Former TV Reporter @KTVN & @YourAKLink. UNR graduate. News & Political junkie. Mom to 3 amazing young adults. I am an adventurous, compassionate and complicated woman. I have a deep abiding concern and interest in an array of issues. I consider myself to be an advocate for the underdog and have a great disdain for injustice. I work my best under pressure and deadlines and am adaptable and versatile. I enjoy politics, history and journalism. I love to write and enjoy a good debate. Music, writing, journalism, politics and dance play an integral part of my life! I have worked in both broadcast and print journalism, reporting for numerous small to medium market television news departments. Started as an intern becoming a news reporter for KTVN (Reno) and as a general assignment T.V. News Reporter in Fairbanks Alaska. In 1983 one of my package news stories was purchased by and aired on CNN. I have reported on a wide variety of stories, including crime, disasters, politics, legal, social, and issues of justice. Covered heartwarming stories that demonstrate the strength and spirit of people facing adversity. I have received numerous accolades and awards for my investigative pieces. I have reported on a wide range of stories including women's issues, the latest medical breakthroughs such as the artificial heart, major political campaigns, critical environmental issues to the lighter side of news such as the Reno Hot Air Balloon Races, the Air Shows and even a bathtub race down the Truckee River!! I have also pursued my print writing career, publishing numerous articles for various newspapers and periodicals. I continue to write blogs and sometimes write for newspapers on a free lance basis and am working towards my ultimate goal to finish my book! In between journalism jobs, I have worked in many other areas, Pre- Kindergarten Teacher, Camp Counselor, Cocktail Waitress, Bartender, An extra acting in the movies and production assistant on many major motion pictures filmed in Las Vegas, Marketing work, Black Jack Dealer and computer work. I have also had some legal training, as part of a para legal certification program and I am adept at social media an marketing. I created and operate a youtube page with over 18,000 subscribers and over 9 million video views (All videos which I produced). I created and operate a FB page which has reached 10,000 likes without spending a dime on advertising, all promotions were done exclusively by me. Last but not least: Raised my kids, (job I am most proud of). I have three wonderful children, 2 girls and a boy, each has made me a very proud mom. They range in age from 21-27. I had a fourth child that died, but she lives in my heart and I will never forget her for a moment. I also have two beautiful grand children, Aiden 7 years and Lucy 4. My children are the most important part of my life and my role as a mother the most crucial! I tried and continue to attempt to provide a loving, nurturing, positive and encouraging environment. I have also volunteered for the Big Brother/Big Sister Organization, the Salvation Army, the SIDS Organization & on a few political campaigns. I also volunteered, for promotional and public relations work for a variety of non profit organizations. You can follow me on Twitter: Follow @TaraLOGrady
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment